How to Become a VR Developer

Before I begin this blog, I must admit, I’m a newbie. Though I have years of design experience and some knowledge of web development, I’m new to the VR field. However, I want to learn and plan to be able to create VR content by 2017. If you look at the date of this article, that would be about three months. Check back to see if I can do it.

How am I going to do it? I have done some research and have a plan. Here it is.

Start from the beginning. Though I have some knowledge of HTML, I’m going right back to the basics. Through www.codecademy.com, start from lesson one. My objectives will be to fully understand HTML, CSS, and Java. Why? Understanding these languages won’t help me create VR. However, it will get me into the coding mindset before I tackle the coding I will need for VR development.

Java, oh, Java. I don’t know why yet, but understanding Java will help me understand C# (C sharp). And yes, you guessed it, from Java I will move to C#, which begs the question, why C#? I don’t know that answer either, except for the fact that it is used in Unity. When creating programs in Unity, you must (or should?) include C# code. What is Unity? If you are reading this article, you probably don’t need any explanation. It is the program many game developers use to create—get ready—games. Oh yeah, you can use it to create VR as well. You will just need a software development kit (SDK) for Unity and you are good to go (it might not be that easy, but it’s a start).

So, where was I? HTML, CSS, Java, C#, then Unity. Anything else? Yes, Blender. I have no idea how to use this. I have played with Unity a bit, but Blender is a new space for me. It is a 3D creation suite. I forgot to mention, you can get Unity and Blender free; what a deal!

That’s the plan for now. I’m almost through with HTML and CSS and ready to move to Java. I’m sure as I go I will find other skills I need, requiring me to change the steps I plan to use to become a new VR developer. After I create my first VR project, I will have to figure out how to get it to work on my phone and goggles. Should be exciting. It will be easy to give up, but like anything else in life, you must fail and fail before you succeed. Persistence will be the key.

I would love to hear from any VR (or AR) developers and share how they learned the trait.

Leave a Reply

