Confused yet?

I am. I’m following all the latest VR news and it’s hard to see what’s coming. I mean, what VR headset do I buy? What phone does and will work best for VR? Can I watch some VR on Android and other on IOS, or can I use both platforms? Is it interactive? If so, what tools should I buy? Or, can I use the magnet on the screen to touch buttons?

What about developing? What platform should I develop for? Can I develop for the web? Or is that just 360 video? How can I use VR?

Oh, wait. I might not be able to answer the above questions, except for the last one. The possibilities are endless. Shopping, gaming, advertising, education, entertainment, and the list goes on and on. Somethings simply won’t work for VR, right? I mean, I just watched a computer science course from Harvard in 360 video. Why? I scrolled around and saw the students, but I don’t care to watch students taking notes. I just want to watch the lecturer and I can do that with a simple video. I’m not going to strap on a headset to watch it.

So, what will I use VR for? More accurately, how will I use it. For me, in the comfort of my own home, sitting in my favorite seat. What will I watch? Well, anything that I can’t do with video or in real life. If reading an article or watching a video is better, then that is what I will do.

But what about all the questions I could answer?

One thought on “Confused yet?

  1. Ah hah! I see where your interest in VR is coming from now. And yes, I think you’re right, education is the right medium for VR, but I still think AR will be more ubiquitous. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

